Ramblings from my life…

Welcome Home!

My dad informed me that I hadn’t updated my blog since my husbands return. So, here you go!

Homecoming was amazing. The girls and I arrived at 11 am to try and talk our way into customs and greet him at the gate. By 12:30, I gave up after talking with the airline he was flying, the AMC, the USO and the TSA. We had lunch and were told that the flight was delayed by 1-2 hours. I took the girls to the USO where they played with another little girl and watched a movie. Around 1:50 pm we walked over to the International waiting area. At 2:05 pm a few military men and women started to walk through the gate. One by one…. and with each one the girls would stand up, wave their American flags and then let out a sigh of disappointment when it was just some other person. I can’t say that I did not have my fair share of sighs either… my heart would actually flutter each time the gate doors (with frosted glass, mind you!) would open. Finally at 3:07 pm he walked through. The girls ran into his arms and shouted… “Welcome home daddy!”

It has been a wonderful two days of relaxing, hanging out and even a trip to the Apple store. The girls still think daddy is the best thing since sliced bread and basically I don’t really exist right now – but that’s okay, I’ll take second seat any day to have my hero home. Welcome home Lieutenant! We love you!

5 responses

  1. mommie

    He looks great!!!! Welcome home Chris!!!!!!

    August 17, 2007 at 2:02 pm

  2. Amber

    Welcome home to your hubby! Glad the homecoming went well!

    August 17, 2007 at 9:34 pm

  3. Aunt Syl

    Yeah -I have been pulling this up each day to get the dirt,only to find nothing posted. Thanks for updating everyone – and how about a family picture??
    I’m so happy that you are all together. Love, Aunt Syl

    August 19, 2007 at 12:06 am

  4. LOL! I was wondering if we’d get to read a post-deployment entry.. 🙂 WELCOME HOME, CHRIS!

    August 19, 2007 at 6:46 pm

  5. I almost started crying reading this. I’m so glad that your wait is over and that you have Chris all to yourself in person.

    August 22, 2007 at 2:59 pm

Leave a Reply

