Ramblings from my life…

All in a days work…

Last night I spent the night at my sisters house. My BIL was going to have surgery today and they had to leave the house pretty early. Since she lives 45 mins away, I stayed over. They quietly got ready and left before any of us woke up. Kenny was the first to wake around 6:30 am. I walked into his room and was greeted with a huge smile. He asked about his cousins and I told him that they were still asleep. By 7, both girls were up and ready to play. Around 8, my sister called to tell me that her husbands surgery had been canceled. Turns out the surgeon was on vacation and the staff was unaware. Thus, we will repeat the stay over tomorrow night for the rescheduled surgery on Wednesday.

In other surgery news, my dad successfully had his prostate removed today. Mom said the surgery went well with no complications and dad was doing fine. He called me around 9 pm tonight and sounded a bit tired. He said that up until an hour before, it hadn’t felt like he had surgery… but he didn’t keep up with the meds and the pain was kicking in. My sister and I are going to try and visit tomorrow.

Thankfully, my SIL (on my husbands side) flew into town today. She just turned 18 a week ago, but you’d never know it.  She is the most mature and wise teenager I know. Probably comes from having three older brothers.

My husband is safely out of Afghanistan and in a new country for a few days before heading to yet another place for a debriefing. The count down is on… we only have 8 days left (an hour after this posting). The excitement is so high here that I’m moving in fast motion. I even thought it would be a great idea to bonk my head on the corner of a wall today. Ah well.

Thank you for your prayers….

… and the journey continues…

5 responses

  1. TT

    So glad your dad’s surgery went well.

    August 7, 2007 at 8:06 am

  2. Kim-

    I am so happy that your dad’s surgery went well! I will keep all of you in my thoughts…

    -Kim

    August 7, 2007 at 1:00 pm

  3. Wow! Lots of good news! I’m glad your dad’s surgery went well. I will pray for a quick recovery. And I will also keep your BIL in my prayers as he goes in tomorrow morning.
    Very excited that hubby is safely out of that place and I’m sure the next few days will not come quick enough for the two of you!

    August 7, 2007 at 11:02 pm

  4. Glad to hear your Dad’s surgery went well and that Dh is inching closer to home!! My continued prayers for both men in your life in addition to your BIL’s surgery.

    August 7, 2007 at 11:23 pm

  5. So glad your Dad’s surgery went well.

    Your ticker officially says 7 days. I’m very happy for you. 🙂

    August 8, 2007 at 2:17 am

Leave a Reply

