Ramblings from my life…

It’s a… floor?

Who knew I had a floor in my office? I surely did not. We moved 22 months ago from our 2100 square foot home, to a 1200 square foot home. (Now we do have a basement here, mostly un-finshed – which adds our total to 2200 square feet – but that is not in closet space or kitchen space, where it was before.) 22 months ago we cluttered our office floor with wall hangings. The office turned into, as I fondly called it, “the room where things go to die”. Mail, office. Funny article, office. Camera, office. Pictures, office. Clean clothes, office bench. Dirty clothes, office hamper. Shoes, office. Important documents, office. You get the point… the catch all for “stuff”.

Today, my sister and my mom came over to help. Things had gotten a bit out of hand and were starting to melt their way over into other rooms. My sister, who is quite the neat freak (as is my husband), volunteered to organize my life again while my mom watched our kids. First she organized the clothes and told me to Good Will anything that I had not worn recently. Easier said than done, right? I contemplated over the ugly sweater, the torn shirt and the too small skirt. We hung up pants (gasp!) and stuck shoes in the closet (another, gasp!). Then it was on to the other stuff. Papers filled, pictures moved to one end of the room, Christmas wreath, egg dyeing stuff and Valentines to the basement with the other holiday stuff. She even helped me hang some curtains in my bedroom… up until now there had been a sheet tied to my bed posts to cover the window and give me privacy. What was the end result? I have a floor! Not to mention a clean house!!!

My mom was an angel. Watching three kids, reading books, playing dolls and kitchen and doing her fair share of cleaning too.

Mom, Kris – thanks doesn’t even begin to say how much I value what you did for me today. You two are my very best friends and I love you so much.

5 responses

  1. Yea for a great family!!! I’m sure the girls had a great time with their cousin and Grammy!

    August 2, 2007 at 9:30 pm

  2. You’re welcome!! Actually, it’s easier organizing someone else’s stuff… my office doesn’t have a floor either! ha ha…

    August 3, 2007 at 9:39 pm

  3. Katie P.

    Thank God for Angels…
    August 15th is almost here; I have been praying for you all every day!
    Love, Katie

    August 6, 2007 at 3:19 pm

  4. Laura

    WOW!!!! Just a few more days to gooooo… sounds like you guys are all ready! 🙂

    August 6, 2007 at 4:40 pm

  5. Pingback: Fall cleaning… « Half my Heart

Leave a Reply

