Ramblings from my life…

America, we love you…

When we are in the car the only radio station we listen to is WGTS. The girls know the latest and greatest of the Contemporary Christian music. They can sing any praise and worship song that pops on, including the radio station theme music, “WGT….S, 91 point 9”. Lately there has been a new interlude, if you will, that the station plays between songs. It is a patriotic diddy. Without hesitation both girls chime in as it starts up, “America, we love you… the Red, White and Blu—uue”. Today Pig Will sang it, paused and stated, “mom, I love that song, but it makes me sad.” Me, “why does it make you sad?”, Pig Will, “it reminds me of daddy and I really miss him.”

This is my heart wrenching. What a sweet little girl.

We went to dinner at a neighbor’s house tonight. When she called to invite us on Thursday she said, “I noticed that your husband’s car was all cleaned up, he must be coming home soon!” Funny.  We had a nice dinner and my kids enjoyed playing with her four kids. She also noticed the day my husband left. I had only met her a few months before and mentioned that he was Navy – at the time we did not know that he would be called up for duty. She rang the doorbell and said, “I noticed you put a yellow ribbon on your mailbox, did your husband deploy?” and handed me a loaf of banana bread. I’ve got some good neighbors!

Earlier today the girls and I went to the local Party store. I wanted to get some stakes for the big sign we made. Not only did I buy those, but found some pre-made yard and house signs… It might be overdone… but we are one proud (and excited!!!) family!

2 responses

  1. I’m so thrilled that your husband will be home in just over 2 weeks. How exciting it must be for you and the girls. You’ll have to post picks of the homecoming and the decorations.

    July 28, 2007 at 9:49 pm

  2. We also love WGTS. I am so sorry to report that the owner of the WGTS radio station is about to SELL it to MPR which will NOT maintain Christian programming! See http://www.SaveWGTS.org and go to the “How You Can Help” link.

    August 2, 2007 at 10:10 am

Leave a Reply

