Ramblings from my life…

House keeping

I’ve been frantically organizing my life, making check list after check list, cleaning and stressing, imagining homecoming day. This past week has blazed by like none of the others have. Tomorrow is the weekend again, then we only have 5 more days until the month that my husband comes home in. So many things have happened since January 21st. We had birthday’s, our anniversary, other holiday’s, hair mishaps, preschool graduation…

I am ready. I am ready to see my husband… to hear his voice without static or airplanes flying over head. I am ready to smell him, hear him laugh and see him play with his girls. Today I can finally say that I am ready for him to walk through the door and see his house. I maybe had let a few things slide recently – crayon on the walls and carpet of the basement playroom, just to name one. Today I scrubbed like no woman has ever scrubbed. I took joy in cleaning because I want the house to be welcoming to my hard working man. I want him to come home and relax – not worry about what needs to be done next to the kitchen… or the fact that there is still a huge hole in the office from water damage that happened right before he left.

Today would not have been possible if it weren’t for the amazing friendship that I have with my dear friend TT. She calls me every day to check in and make sure that I am doing okay. Today she told me to drop the kids off for a few hours so that I could get some things done. Without her willingness to take my kids off my hands – I couldn’t have accomplished what I did today. I feel like a huge weight has been lifted and I felt my shoulders drop (seriously). My shoulders are so used to being scrunched up that when I took a deep breath and they fell, I was sincerely shocked.

So, tomorrow we continue to prepare. More signs to make, more cleaning, more check lists… but hey, it is all worth it… I get the best prize in the end.

4 responses

  1. Hello, you don’t know me but my name is Mandi and I co-run a message board for Navy spouses and we would like to invite you to join us, we can be found at (*on file*). We really hope to see you there.

    Mandi

    July 26, 2007 at 11:37 pm

  2. Whew.. you are accomplishing much in these last days! 🙂 I’ll bet he’ll be SO glad to be in his freshly scrubbed house and back in your arms. Catfish comes home this week.. in and out, in and out. He’s going for your guy’s old squadron for shore duty. So, we’ll still be doing the rag squadron schedule.

    July 27, 2007 at 7:53 am

  3. We are anxiously awaiting his arrival!!

    July 27, 2007 at 10:30 am

  4. I”m so excited for you!! Woohoo! What a great friend to help you with the kids while you get all that stuff done!

    July 27, 2007 at 3:47 pm

Leave a Reply

