Ramblings from my life…

Christmas in July

As we were on our nightly stroll, Rusty and I in the lead with the girls in tow, the girls chattered about this and that. They were chomping on raisins and laughing about something that only someone under 6 could understand. We passed by the only other people out tonight, an elderly couple admiring their flower bed. I turned to greet them just as Pig Me Too states matter-of-factly (and not too loud,  but just loud enough)… “look, there’s Santa!” I had to turn my head away so they wouldn’t see me laughing. I couldn’t bear to look their direction again. I just pretended I didn’t hear her and kept walking, fast. My smirk did not leave my face for the remainder of the walk. The man had a gray and white beard and mustache… and a pony-tail… and was bald on top!

Now I am worn out. I’ve spent the last two days acting like my husband will show up any minute. Yesterday I scrubbed the kitchen and bathrooms, made signs with the girls, vacuumed and mowed the back yard. Yep, my gracious neighbor has been mowing it since my husband left – however, he has missed a few weeks since he was building a new fence between our yards. I told the girls to find something quiet to do and not to open the doors. I didn’t want them watching TV because Pig Will gets in the zone and then Pig Me Too might get into trouble. This way I had them together. I mowed quickly and came back inside to them sitting on the couch together. I asked Pig Will what they did the whole time I was outside and she replied, “read books to each other quietly, mom. You told us to do something quiet.” (This is my jaw on the floor. Since when do they listen?)

My muscles hurt this morning in places that I did not know that I had muscles…. but that did not stop me. Super Mom jumped into action. This time, plopping the girls down in front of a long movie upstairs, I ventured down into the dungeon… aka, the playroom. When I had asked the girls to clean up the last few days, I was too tired to check to make sure they did a nice job. Their definition of cleaning is “let’s see how much stuff we can cram under the toy chest, couch, chair and end table”. So, I swiped my hand under each piece of furniture and piled all the toys in the middle of the room. One by one, I found the proper place for them. When I finally finished, it was time for Mr. Clean magic erasers… that crayon has been on the walls way too long. Last I grabbed the old pack of half-dried out wipes from Pig Me Too’s dresser and tried to rub out some stains in the carpet. Then I forbid them from playing downstairs the rest of the day. They put the tent in Pig Will’s room and played house before dinner.

Now I’m off to have a huge bowl of ice cream and catch up on some Days of our Lives… sometimes it is nice to escape to Salem.

2 responses

  1. Sounds like you deserve that escape!! Wish we were close enough for you to drop the girls off for the day.

    And that Santa remark is hilarious!

    July 21, 2007 at 9:15 pm

  2. You’d better pace yourself or you’ll be too worn out when he gets home! 😉 Just kidding!

    July 21, 2007 at 11:27 pm

Leave a Reply

