Ramblings from my life…

Homefront on the horizon…

In just a few days we will be down to only five weeks left! I can’t believe that we started with 221 days and we are down to 34 today. There is so much to do to get ready. I don’t want the days to slow down… but I need to make myself work faster. I need to organize things, clean things… make signs…

Today Pig Will turned to me and said out of nowhere, “Mommy, we only have to make one more calendar… and we only have to “x” off half of it before daddy comes home!” She is too smart! Both children are begging me each day to make the “Welcome Home” signs for them to hold at the airport. I took Sticker Project Paper and printed some images on it. We will cut them out and, instant stickers on the sign! I did a google image search for “welcome home”, “I love you”, “American Eagle” and “flag ribbon” and came up with some great pictures for stickers. I also bought window decal paper for the printer. It is transparent film and is re-usable. Should be interesting.

In other news, my dad has scheduled his surgery. So please be praying for him and my mom… that the surgeons will successfully remove all cancer and dad will be in remission.

We are still planning our Italy trip. I took way too long of a break from it. After finding a Villa in Tuscany for nights 3 through 9, I had had enough of the internet. We still need a hotel for nights 1 and 2 in Rome, if anyone has suggestions! 🙂 Next I will be searching out a plan for the Amalfi Coast for nights 10 through 15…

2 responses

  1. How is your dad?… Judy is going to Italy, taking a similar tour.. I’ll ask where she booked. I know she is doing Tuscany and pretty sure Rome, as well. Ah – I remember the homecoming decorating! Exciting!!!! The girls must be BEYOND excited..

    July 18, 2007 at 9:30 am

  2. Hey Kim! I just got back from 2 weeks in Europe. We did a Mediterranean Cruise. Rome was amazing…get ready to do a lot of walking and allow a lot of extra time if you want to go inside certain places. If you want to see the Vatican Museum, which is the only way to see the Sistine Chapel, then plan to stand in line for 2 to 3 hours. Also, to go inside the Colosseum there is a long wait as well.
    Have a great time!
    I have also been thinking about your Dad…have faith that everything will turn out ok!
    Love,
    Kim

    July 21, 2007 at 3:05 pm

Leave a Reply

