Ramblings from my life…

Simply Joy

The ice cream truck drives by our house almost every day from Memorial Day until Labor Day. Every time the girls hear the truck’s magical music (and yes, you can hear it all the way down in the basement with loud music and playing going on!) they coming screaming upstairs that they would like to buy some. I had to give them a lesson in the reality of the cost for these things. A box of 6 for $4.00 or two from the truck for $4.00… which is better? When they gave the right answer, a wave of sadness hit Pig Will. She asked if we wouldn’t ever buy from the truck. I replied that it would be a special treat every once in awhile if they had done their chores for the week on their chart.

I don’t know what makes the ice cream so much more special when it comes from the musical truck… but I can remember those days from my childhood hearing an ice cream truck…. and precious moments like these you just can’t pass up!

I’ve been playing around with Photoshop Elements… fun!

7 responses

  1. I LOVE the pic!! Your girls are just so cute.

    July 7, 2007 at 1:38 pm

  2. The photo is VERY cool!

    The truck has it’s own allure, doesn’t it? I have to admit, even though I don’t run out the door to buy for *me* and rarely for the kids, just hearing that music strips away the years and fills me with childhood sunshine.

    July 7, 2007 at 11:44 pm

  3. mommie

    incredible pic. go girl!!!!

    July 8, 2007 at 6:03 pm

  4. Aunt Syl

    What beautiful girls!! Please post pictures as often as you are comfortable with so that those of us far away can keep up with them. On a side note – not too much longer until he’s home. Time has probably gone slowly for you, but it seems to fly by for some of us – I’m happy for you and the girls.

    July 8, 2007 at 10:25 pm

  5. TT

    The pic is great!

    July 9, 2007 at 7:53 am

  6. Amber

    Great picture! It is funny how the little things like that can be so much fun for kids, and us too!

    July 9, 2007 at 5:22 pm

  7. So very true! Even now, as an adult, when I hear an ice cream truck nearby, I have the urge to go chasing it! There’s nothing like seeing the ice cream man disappear into his truck and come back with any treat you desire!

    I am happy I found your blog through your sister’s!

    Jane, Pinks & Blues Girls

    July 11, 2007 at 3:02 pm

Leave a Reply

