Ramblings from my life…

Speaking of cooking…

The girls and I just got back from a weekend with my brother-in-law and his family. It is about a 3 hour drive and I haven’t had a need to stop yet. The girls watch a long movie and then the rest of the time they sing and play.

My brother-in-law and his wife are great cooks.  They follow elaborate recipes with amazing end results. While Crisanne made homemade tortilla’s, Jeff made grilled chicken, guacomole, bacon, onions and other yummy things to go inside. Once assembled, the fajitas were grilled to melt the cheese. It was the best tasting Mexican I’ve ever had… in fact, I made the comment that I just had to blog about it!

The weekend was filled with fun. The girls got to slip-n-slide with their cousins, I had no idea that they would understand the concept yet! Granted they slid on their knees, not their bellies – but they had a blast. On day two we went to their downtown area. We spent four hours window shopping (and a bit of real shopping too!) and had lunch. I had a nice time, but being with my husbands brother really makes me miss him so much more. Funny how small mannerisms can remind you of silly things. People tell me all the time how I will do something that reminds them of my sister.

Although it was a short trip, it was a much needed break from our day to day (and week to week) routine. Now, time for lunch… let’s see if I can whip up some gourmet PB&J!

One response

  1. Amber

    Oh that sounds so yummy! I wish I knew how to make homemade tortillas, got the recipie?

    June 25, 2007 at 7:37 pm

Leave a Reply

