Ramblings from my life…

The cook inside me…

I really DO want to cook. I don’t mean follow a simple recipe and come out with some bland tasting, dried out chicken mush… I mean real cooking.

Tonight I attended a Pampered Chef show and was amazed at the way the consultant handled the kitchen tools and the food like it was baking cookies. Just a bit of this, a bit of that and voila! She sprinkled fresh grated Parmesan cheese onto a thin sheet of Phylo dough, then wrapped fresh asparagus into it. Then baked it and made a yummy sauce to go with it. Then she made a salad with stir-fried jerk chicken, black beans and bacon – again with some sauce (guess I should have paid attention more! Thank goodness for the recipe card!). Finally she made some brownie ice cream sandwiches.

I enjoyed a lovely evening out while my children were cared for at home by my awesome mom! Thanks Mom!

Earlier today the girls and I went strawberry picking with some friends from school. Even though the farm was closed for the season, we pleaded with the man to let our preschoolers pick. He mentioned that the season was bad and the crop was low – we’d just be picking for entertainment value. I said that was completely fine just to see our kids faces and see them enjoying themselves. Well, that they did! Although small, we picked a few baskets full of red, ripe strawberries that were very flavorful! The kids were actually pretty good at it too! Last year I had to stop them from trying to eat them or from picking the ones with bug holes… today, probably less than 10 had holes. Later the kids all came back to my house to play on the swingset in the shade. What a fun-filled great day!

2 responses

  1. Amber

    Glad you had a great, and very fun day!

    June 21, 2007 at 11:56 pm

  2. Seriously the biggest rule about cooking like that is to have a sense of adventure and be willing to mess it up. I don’t always go all out and make the big meal, but when I do, I have to admit I’m not often following a recipe. You start to learn what works and what doesn’t – sometimes you mess up a bit and you make the note not to do it again. 😉

    Don’t be intimidated by the recipe. Find something you want to make and follow it down to the last detail. . .at least the first time. When you get confidence start to experiment. I never mess with ‘working’ ingredients – flour, baking sodas, etc. I mess with flavoring.

    My brother is a chef and even he can royally destory a meal when he gets to playing in the kitchen…the thing is between the flubs come out some amazing treasures. It’s all about being brave and/or foolish enough not to care.

    Enjoy!!

    June 24, 2007 at 5:21 pm

Leave a Reply

