Ramblings from my life…

Day by Day, and another week passes…

Can you imagine what it must feel like to have chronic insomnia? Granted many people suffer from insomnia, I’ve had my fair share of sleep troubles… but my husband must take a Malaria pill weekly to avoid the disease. This in turn causes insomnia – and not just your “I can’t sleep tonight” but more like constant waking and not being able to go back to sleep for hours several times a night. The base also routinely wakes often for Ramp ceremonies… basically, in civilian terms, this is a funeral for fallen soldiers. I won’t get into any details. Not only is he not getting rest, but most days the temperature is 115 and will only rise as the months go on. Please pray for my husband.

On the home front things are ticking along. The girls insisted that we make daddy a build-a-bear with a voice box recording of them saying, “Hi Daddy, I love you, Happy Father’s Day” one after the other. They worked for about an hour, helping stuff it, putting in a heart each (I got to put one in too! A bear with 3 hearts!), brushing him, naming him and then giving him a birth certificate. Then they dressed him in Camouflage and kissed him goodbye, asking him to protect daddy and bring him home safe and soon. My eyes welled up for most of that hour. I know he is a grown man, but the girls insisted that daddy needed a friend, someone to hug at night to be able to think of them. It was a very memorable experience. There might not be much room for “Fluffy”, but the gift came straight from the two sweetest little hearts I know.

2 responses

  1. Aunt Syl

    Honey I am certain your husband is on everyone’s minds and in their prayers constantly. How sweet of you and your girls to make him a love/memory bear. I’m sure he will treasure that more than anything else he owns. You are raising children who are wise beyond their years. I’m sure they are more sensitive and compassionate than most children their age due to not taking anything for granted and truly appreciating their blessings. Rejoicing that God (and Fluffy) is watching over Chris. Love, Aunt Syl

    June 17, 2007 at 2:21 pm

  2. Oh, goodness. I’m in tears and praying God will just heap all sorts of blessings on you girls and your husband, and will bless him with a peaceful night’s sleep when he it’s most unexpected. Did you girls even get to warm the heart up in your hands? Build a bear is the best.

    June 18, 2007 at 9:55 pm

Leave a Reply

