Ramblings from my life…

The Graduate

It is official! Pig Will has graduated preschool! I cannot believe that my little girl is going to go to Kindergarten in the Fall. The ceremony was cute, albeit long. The three year olds joined the graduates on the stage for songs and certificates of their own. Then the 4/5 year olds did two more songs in sign language before recieving their “diploma’s”. They wore caps made out of foam and gowns made out of tie dye strips of material, that were actually pretty nice! The school logo was imprinted on one end and their name and class year was nicely written on the other end. When Pig Will heard clapping, she would take her hand and sort of shue the audience (what a ham!) like saying “oh stop, please… no, no… thank YOU!” I remember her doing that last year. Pig Me Too was in the front row just soaking it all in. Clapping when names were called and singing at the top of her lungs. She got an “Awww” when she ran to the teacher to get her certificate. They had a very long presentation of pictures to show off what they did during the year. The girls and I made it in there quite a few times… since I volunteer so often. In fact, I actually got presented with a thank you gift for being a super mom (1 out of 5 mom’s and 3 dad’s/grandpa!).

Before graduation, we went to a nice dinner to celebrate not only the graduation, but my Grandmother’s 95th birthday! Yes, 95th! She is such a blessing. What an amazing woman. She can tell you any story from growing up to her working days to things she’s done in the last few years. She greets every morning with a smile – and although she might walk slow now, she is not ready to stop. She turned to me the other day and asked, “Do you think I’ll make it to 100?” To which I replied, “yes, of course grandma!” To which SHE replied, “I do too! I’m almost there!” Happy Birthday Grandma, I love you!

Now, I’ve only got three short months until I have to give up my oldest for 7 hours a day, 5 times a week. I don’t think I’m ready for that. I’m torn – months go slow and enjoy them… or months go fast and my husband will be home….

3 responses

  1. How is it possible that our little girls are so old already???

    June 10, 2007 at 9:45 am

  2. Amber

    Congrats on the big graduate! Happy birthday to Grandma too! Your kids are just way too cute!

    June 10, 2007 at 10:31 pm

  3. dana

    Wow! I can’t believe she will be in the BIG school next year! I understand, you don’t want to wish your life away and then you don’t want time to go slow either:) What to do – What to do!
    I just think it is so exciting that you have 2 months plus to go!!!!! Yippie!

    June 11, 2007 at 12:46 pm

Leave a Reply

