Ramblings from my life…

Me thinks she doth protest too much!

If anyone can figure out a five year old, let me know. Since when did she know what is best for her and what she is allowed to do? It is not your normal age two to four year old banter of “no” or “no mommy”, it is a full blown out explanation of why “I will not do this because I want to do this” or “but you said that I could have this and now I want it or you will make me really mad”… what? since when?

What is it about a five year old that makes them think so much? I mean, this is not a bad thing – thinking… but to think up at least 10 reasons in 1.2 seconds flat of why she should get a lollipop on the walk is amazing, baffling, mind-boggling! Or what about when I say that it is time to clean up the basement. The 3 year old just says “oh mom” in a whiny voice. The five year old list 5 things that she’d rather be doing and then picks one to start doing. When I mention again that it is clean up time, she gives me another list of things that she’d rather be doing and then starts doing one. On my third attempt to say that it is clean up time, she starts the pouting, whining, yelling and sometimes even stomping. Either I forgot and she is really only 1 years old – or somehow I missed a few years and she is 15.

On the plus side, after a ten minute talk with her (and little sis sitting close behind) she was pretty cuddly for most of the day. A few times I had to remind her that her answer was “yes, ma’am” instead of “but, but, but… I want to do this” and she quickly complied. I guess I need to start each day with THE TALK and maybe we will be fine. If anyone has any insight, I’d love to hear about it…

Now I’m off to dream about Tuscany sunsets, sipping wine and cuddling with my husband…

5 responses

  1. mommie

    She is just like your sis was. we called her “little well but” . She thought through everything and had an answer as to why her plan was better. Good luck!!! Actually, she is pretty smart, so be glad of that. Love you, Mommie

    May 7, 2007 at 8:46 am

  2. 5 brings on all kinds of reasoning skills. Claire likes to tell me I hurt her feelings if she doesn’t get her way. Silly girls!

    May 7, 2007 at 11:05 am

  3. Seriously, I thought 4 was the new 14. I have no doubt 5 levels the same sort of leap forward. Yikes!

    Love the sunset photo!

    May 7, 2007 at 2:45 pm

  4. airdalewife

    Me thinks a certain you know who shall grow up to be a very fine lawyer! Nena does the same thing, and she drives me nutty! She is, though, her mother’s daughter.. 🙂

    May 7, 2007 at 11:04 pm

  5. Aunt Syl

    Hi honey. I always read your blog but have not written you. Your girls sound like you and your sister when you were little – and look how beautiful you are as Christians, wives and mothers. I know you will handle yourself with faith and grace and God will look after your family and bless you while your husband is away helping to ensure our safety. I’m sorry that you get so sad missing him. You are always in my thoughts and prayers.

    May 8, 2007 at 12:08 am

Leave a Reply

