Ramblings from my life…

Perfect Timing…

The Lord always has perfect timing… Amen? Just when you are about to give up, lose it or come up with your own game plan – the Lord reveals His plan and boom, problem solved.

I’ve been pondering what to do about my grass. The last time my husband deployed I finally learned how to mow grass, but my youngest was only 6 weeks old… so, I didn’t want to leave her inside with the 20 month old while I mowed, so I hired someone to mow it. This time I figured I’d hire someone again, but since we are in a new state, I’d have to find someone new. The day before Pig Will’s birthday my dad came over to give the grass it’s first cut of the season. Since then the grass has been growing at lightening speed and has not been cut again.

I was lining up phone numbers to call this afternoon, but ran out of time because we needed to go to a birthday party down the street. I met a few neighbors and one couple has two girls, ages 9 and 12. I’m not sure how the topic came up, but soon I was telling them about how I needed to hire someone to mow the grass. She told me that her daughters make great mother’s helpers and they would love to watch the girls anytime I needed to get household chores done. Mother’s helpers are too young to babysit, but often help play with kids so that more can be accomplished with house work. So, I’m thinking that I could clean up the yard with my kids outside (picking up sticks that fell from trees and doggy mess) and then call the mother’s helpers as soon as I’m ready to mow. They could walk down the street and play with the kids while I mow and it would be cheaper than hiring someone to mow. Since summer is around the corner, I could also hire them once in awhile to come over and play with the kids while I clean house. I might actually be more organized! I’m not sure why I hadn’t thought about it before, but I guess I didn’t know any 12 year olds nearby. What does everyone think? My neighbor friend has known the family for 7 years and trusts them and their girls. Should I try a trial day with me in the house before committing to a mowing day? Or, should I just hire a lawn mower person?

5 responses

  1. mommie

    perfect idea and the girls will have fun. also, as the sitters grow up, they will become babysitters!!! yea! go for it.

    May 6, 2007 at 7:26 am

  2. I’d give it a try-just poke your head in an out at random times and you’ll have a good idea if you want to continue it. Thank God for His timing!

    May 6, 2007 at 7:39 am

  3. Sounds like a great idea. I’d give it a try and see what happens.

    May 6, 2007 at 1:59 pm

  4. airdalewife

    It’s a great idea! I had a mother’s helper before Hank was born. I’ve even hired my regular sitter at half rate to help clean out my fridge and do some tasks around the house that I needed help with. Go for it.. 🙂 I have a wordpress, now, too.. you’ve inspired me and it’ll probably save on my long distance bill (many calls to family this month! Wah!!).. it’s really therapeutic! http://www.airdalewife.wordpress.com
    – L

    May 6, 2007 at 4:03 pm

  5. I totally agree…go for it! 😀

    May 8, 2007 at 10:15 pm

Leave a Reply

