Ramblings from my life…

To my patriotic friend… thanks

While I was running errands today, at one pit stop I came back to my car to find a little business card tucked in my driver side window. I glanced at it and noticed a yellow ribbon on it. The card reads “Beyond the Yellow Ribbon. Thank You for your service and dedication to Our Country! Dear American Hero, I am not certain as to how to express my gratitude for all you have done to secure my freedom. Please accept this simple card as a small token of my appreciation. A grateful American citizen.”

Wow.

I looked around at the other cars and did not see it tucked in each window. They must have seen my DOD tags (department of defense) or my very small magnet on the back of my car that reads, “Half my Heart is in Afghanistan”. Either way, this person seeks out military cars while they are shopping. I am grateful to this person, I wish I could thank them for making my day. Instead I just looked heavenward and thanked the Lord for my wonderful husband and all of the willing personnel like him.

It might not seem like much, but having someone say “thanks” or “we are thinking about you” or “what can I do for you?” to you is like receiving a Gold medal. It means the world to me.

4 responses

  1. Wow what a great thing for someone to do. That’s really awesome.

    May 2, 2007 at 3:05 pm

  2. Hi there! What a beautiful thing for someone to do. I can see why it touched you so much.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today. It’s so nice to “meet” you. 😉 My husband is deployed right now too, so I feel your pain.

    Have a fun day,
    Michelle

    May 3, 2007 at 9:21 am

  3. kim cook

    i love this blog, i am always here for you kimmie and your fam,
    love ya tons!!!

    May 10, 2007 at 7:57 pm

  4. What a great idea! I’m glad you mentioned how it blessed you.

    Just surfing through on the CWO ring. The Lord bless you and keep you…and especially your brave husband.

    May 16, 2007 at 11:12 pm

Leave a Reply

