Ramblings from my life…

Have they forgotten?

Tonight on my walk I noticed a few things. Some of my neighbors are plain out rude.

I miss my husband every day, but on Sunday’s I miss him even more. I go to church and see couples, friends ask me about my husband and well, church is where we met. So, tonight on my walk, thinking about my husband… first I see my next door neighbors flag hanging out. It hasn’t been out before, so this brings a smile to my face. Next door to that house, the next house has a flag hanging… great, this is wonderful, this American Pride! My smile quickly fades as the next few things I see are a kid sitting on his front porch with a grumpy look on his face and an object that looks like a gun. Startled, I walk faster – and then I hear a “pop”… it is a be-be gun. He sees me and pops a few more. I reach the end of the street and start to turn left as I see a child, probably no older than eight riding the smallest moped bike created. It is sputtering and blowing smoke out the back. From the back porch his dad is cheering him on. As I round the next corner another child nearly plows into me on his bike and a dog, off his leash chases after us. As I finally near home I see one, two, three, four, five motorcycles race by the main street outside our neighborhood going at least 60 miles an hour or more on a curvy 25 mile an hour street. Just two weeks ago a motorcyclist was killed a few miles down from speeding too fast. Yet, they forget. These people are so busy with their every day lives. Do this, do that. Finish this, finish that. Watch the last episode of this or that. Impress her, impress him. What ever happened to American Pride? You have a yellow ribbon magnet on your car… what does that mean? Are you showing off to your friends that you “support the troops” – or do you REALLY support the troops? Do you think about them each hour that you are awake? Remember 9/11? Every other car or house in the United States waved a flag… do you now? What is different now? Why did you take your flag, ribbon, whatever down?

It really humbles me. It reminds me to call my widow friend. It reminds me to pray for each service man/women, not just my husband. It reminds me to be kind to the check out lady – it is not her fault I’m late. It reminds me to not be frustrated when cars speed by and cut me off.

Pray for me, I’ll pray for you. Wave your flag, don’t forget what it REALLY means. American Pride:

And I’m proud to be an American,
where at least I know I’m free.
And I wont forget the men who died,
who gave that right to me.

And I gladly stand up,
next to you and defend her still today.
‘Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land,
God bless the USA.

3 responses

  1. Amber

    Those are some very good thoughts! Thanks for sharing them!

    April 22, 2007 at 9:03 pm

  2. Katie

    Thinking of you…Love, Katie

    April 23, 2007 at 1:12 pm

  3. What a beautiful reminder!

    April 23, 2007 at 10:25 pm

Leave a Reply

