Ramblings from my life…

Thankful for this little life…

Tomorrow Pig Will will be five. Wow, I can’t believe that five years ago, I became a mom. The day she was born was very eventful. The day started out like any other… breakfast, a quick walk with Rusty, the loyal Golden Retriever… and what I though were Braxton Hicks contractions. I’d had them since 20 weeks, so how was this any different? Then, they got closer together and stronger… I thought, surely not, maybe I should call the Triage to make sure. I telephoned in, “Hello, Triage”… Yes, I was… won…der…ing… IF… I… was… um… um…. in…. um…. um… labor…. “Sounds like it, you are having trouble talking. Has your water broken?” No… ma’m… “Okay, go lay down on your left side for half an hour and then call us back.” Okay… fast forward 30 minutes… I feel much better and start to get up. As I am standing, I feel a powerful whoosh and I am soaked. I call Triage… um, I think my water broke. Meanwhile, during my 30 minute nap I called my parents who were on an RV trip heading back to their state. Their plans were to stop by for the day – and thank goodness! They arrived just as I got off the phone with Triage. I tried to call my husband several times but was unable to get through… then, just as we were leaving for the hospital, he pulls up in the driveway.

Flashback to the day before: I had my 38 week check up and when the nurse checked me, I was at 3 cm and 50% effaced.  She helped things along, I went home and took the dog for a walk – on which I stepped into a hole, tripped and fell over… catching myself to not fall on my belly, scraping my hand and knee, to flip myself on my rear. Do you think that stirred up Pig Will?

Now, back to the day of: We arrive at Triage and I am 7 cm, 80% effaced. They hook me up to several monitors and finally move me to my own delivery room. Two hours pass and the contractions are getting painful, I ask for an epidural. Try one, First attempt ever by a new Resident Anesthesiologists. Inserted wrong, painful screaming… oh, did I mention that my husband was not allowed in the room? Five minutes pass, Attending Anesthesiologists asks if I would like another shot at it? Yes, but I want my husband and I want YOU do do the procedure. Can’t have both lady… no time for me to get your husband it is either now or never. Now please.  Six hours pass and they finally check me, turns out one section of my water did not break, so the nice doctor breaks it. One hour later, 10 cm, 100% effaced – I’m ready. A few pushes (yes, please don’t hate me!) and out comes this full head of dark brown hair. My first words? “Where is her blond hair?”… to which husband replies… “um, honey? Your husband has dark brown hair.” – oh yeah? sorry! Finish delivery, Pig Will is placed on my stomach as I finish the second part of delivery… What a beautiful sight! This tiny 5.5 lb human being, resting on my stomach, screeching a protest and then rooting. We nurse – the most amazing (yet painful) thing I’ve ever done. Feeding this little being that is half me, half husband. This little being that God formed in my womb. This little being that HE planned from the beginning of time, just laying there helpless. This started day one of the best five years… Happy 5th Birthday tomorrow!!! I love you!

3 responses

  1. Amber

    Happy 5th birthday! I didn’t realize our kids are that close in age… Cale’s big 5 will be in May!

    April 18, 2007 at 8:37 pm

  2. Wow, how amazing. I am 37 weeks pregnant, went to the Dr’s yesterday and he believes that I will go within the next week or two. So your story today made me cry. Thanks! Happy 5th Birthday!

    April 19, 2007 at 12:37 pm

  3. Wow, that was a great description of her first day in the world.

    Happy 5th Birthday and many many many more.

    April 22, 2007 at 8:57 am

Leave a Reply

