Ramblings from my life…

Precious life…

Why do we find ourselves smiling and wrapped up in story book life? The Prince and the Princess who fight evil and win true love. The Man and the Woman who are separated by unforeseeable circumstances but find their way back to each other. The family who has differences and then is distraught with tragedy which brings them back together. Our normal lives must not have enough drama – or maybe they have too much drama and we are drowning ourselves with these fairy tales.

I find myself living in these stories right along side the characters… then at intermission, I take a deep breath and realize that I am right where I started. This is not a bad thing, I love my life. I love my family, my husband, my children, my parents. I love being a mom, a wife and a friend. So then, why do we day dream so often?

What I am talking about is the fact that I really miss my husband. So, I sit down after the kids are in bed and catch up on the latest drama… Which doctor is up for Chief or maybe who is new on Wysteria lane. Oh and who IS that guy on the island – and why haven’t I seen him before now? Is he an “other”?

I get so caught up in these fairy tale lives – and then I hear Pig Me Too cough. She is in the midst of a cold and pretty stuffed up. Reality comes flashing back, mommy instincts kick in and I think about what I will do if she wakes up. Cough syrup is on stand-by… sippy cup ready to go… hugs, kisses and gentle words gearing up…

Oh the precious life. The two lives that I am responsible for, just upstairs. The gifts that the Lord gave me. Soak it in – enjoy it… don’t let it slip away. Embrace – be thankful, grasp at the moments together. Create memories – giggle often and don’t cry over spilled milk.

5 responses

  1. Well said! Or written, I suppose. 🙂

    April 11, 2007 at 9:25 am

  2. I’m thinking Mark just might get it (chief, that is)….and I agree — well expressed! Any thoughts on Sanjaya?

    April 11, 2007 at 3:18 pm

  3. dana

    Well said Kim~!

    April 11, 2007 at 4:40 pm

  4. Amber

    Very well said Kim! I guess those stories are just a way to escape… but really our lives are so good and so blessed we should soak that in more then the escape!

    April 11, 2007 at 4:51 pm

  5. Beautiful post!

    April 25, 2007 at 11:14 pm

Leave a Reply

