Ramblings from my life…

The daddy movie…

My husband made a movie for the kids before he left. He did this for the last deployment also, even though the kids were really young. It helps them to hear his voice and see him at the same time. Basically he just reads a few stories and talks to them in between books.

Not a day goes by without Pig Will reminding me to turn on “the daddy movie” before bed. Probably 5 out of 7 nights we watch it – and each time I tear up and have to leave the room. Last night was different though… I held both kids in my lap and took a deep breath. Even though there is only one movie and my husband says the same thing each time we watch it, it was fun to watch the kids reactions. For example, my husband will ask each child a question and each time, they answer him the same way. To see them giggle and say “oh daddy!” like they are really talking to him just melts my heart. I am so glad that I got to witness them interacting with “him” that way.

The memory of our first homecoming lives strong in Pig Will. She was only around 2.5 years old when my husband returned from his 6 months at sea. Now, at almost 5 year old, she continues to talk about how when daddy comes home we will wave our America flags. That was her favorite day… waving the flags, seeing the planes land, running out to jump in his arms and then stomping on bubble wrap together in the hangar. Pig Me Too was only 8 months old then, so she just agrees with Pig Will and pretends to have the memories.

I am so thankful for my husband. Not only is he an awesome husband – but he is a great father, a wonderful friend and so much more… funny, endearing, entertaining, thoughtful, loving, forgiving… not to mention incredibly handsome. I miss you…

2 responses

  1. Amber

    What a great idea and how sweet of him to make a video for his little girls before he left! That is great they get to still include daddy in the bed time routine!

    April 3, 2007 at 10:37 am

  2. It’s so great that the little one has such great memories. I’m sure they both will when daddy comes home in a few months.

    You are a very strong women. I couldn’t do what you do and stay sane.

    April 3, 2007 at 9:12 pm

Leave a Reply

