Ramblings from my life…

The thing about Brie…

Okay, so I love Brie cheese. My husband and I first tried it on a date during our first year of marriage. We were at an old tavern type place – somewhere. The menu read “Brie and Apples” and we both love other types of cheese with apples, so why not try this? We’ve been hooked ever since.

We usually serve Brie when we have dinner guest, while dinner is cooking. On occasion we will make it for ourselves and have a light dinner.

Since my husband has been gone, I’ve had Brie as my dinner once a week while the girls eat Mac-n-cheese and broccoli. We usually slather the Brie with honey when it is fresh out of the oven to intensify the flavor.

Pig Will has always loved honey. She asked me a few weeks ago to have bread with honey while I ate Brie. I told her that if she wanted some bread and honey that I would like her to try the Brie first. She did and she loved it! Now, when I make Brie for my dinner, she will always ask for some. Each time I’ve offered Pig Me Too a bite, and each time she has refused.

Tonight I cut a slab of Brie in half and put it in the oven. I made the girls a frozen pizza with a side of carrot sticks. By the time they were finished eating, my Brie was hot and bubbly. Of course Pig Will asked for a few bites and for the first time Pig Me Too asked for some honey on a cracker. So, I did the same thing… told her that she had to try the Brie first. She still refused. I told her that she could not eat crackers with honey unless she tried the cheese first and she ate one anyway. So, I did what any good mom does (insert wink here), I told her she could have a Popsicle on our walk if she tried it. Her mouth popped open before I finished my sentence!… and guess what? She LOVED it.

I guess I will be buying a bigger slab of Brie next time…

3 responses

  1. Connie (princesscecemom)

    Cute story! I love the way you got the girls to try the brie. I was just wondering where you’ve been and wandered over here to your blog to say hi. You are a great writer and I enjoy reading your entries. They are filled with love for your girls and your husband. I hope you and the girls are doing well. Take care.

    March 31, 2007 at 12:19 am

  2. Linda (civanomom)

    Hey! It’s been a while! Just wanted you to know I’ve been praying for you! This story reminds me of how DH and I discovered Havarti cheese on our last trip. Havarti isn’t so good for eating on crackers, but it’s just awesome as a grilled cheese sandwich. We had it for the first time in a sweet little restaurant in sweet little Silver City, NM.

    April 1, 2007 at 11:43 pm

  3. Funny story… too bad you taught the girls to like such an expensive cheese! ha ha… You should try “boucheron”… they have it at Whole Foods, and it’s a gourmet Brie made out of goat’s milk… it’s super-yummy! 🙂

    April 2, 2007 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

