Ramblings from my life…

Life’s little lessons, slow down…

Today we attended a field trip for Pig Will’s class. It was a trip to the pool. Each week the class does a letter of the week and this week is “W”, thus we learned about Water today. The kids got to play in the pool’s shallow end. There were 9 adults, 4 of which wore swim suits and were playing with the 17 kids. Now, I am not a pool person… I never learned to swim and I don’t like standing in warm bath-like water. So, I rolled my jeans up and stood in the water and watched Pig Will and Pig Me Too play. They walked up and down the ramp, they sat down and splashed their hands and they watched the other kids jump off the sides. After an hour I was ready to go but the kids wanted to stay longer. Another clothed mom came over to talk to me and since she had shoes on, I stepped back out of the water to talk. No sooner had I backed up when I saw Pig Me Too turn around, trip and fall into the water. Since the adults with bathing suits on were not paying attention and neither was the lifeguard – I did what any mom would do – I jumped in after her. My jeans weighed me down and it seemed like an eternity until I could reach her. I grabbed her out of the water, patted her back and then held her tight. Then, she looked up at me and said “Mommy, I fell in the water and couldn’t see and then I died! Then you got me out of the water”. I hugged her and kissed her and told her that she hadn’t died, just swallowed some water. Standing there in dripping clothes – all I could think about was …this would not have happened if I had just worn a swim suit and been in the water with her, holding her hand. How selfish I had been because I don’t like pool water. When it comes to your children’s life, nothing is more precious. Even though I knew going in there that I would most definitely jump in the pool fully clothed if I saw either of my kids drowning – even if another adult had gone after her – I still trusted those other adults and I shouldn’t have. No one else was watching my kids, they were watching THEIR kids. Pig Will and Pig Me Too are mine and my responsibility.

So, my life lesson… if your kids are going swimming, go swimming with them.

6 responses

  1. Amber

    Oh I am so sorry that you had such a scare! Don’t be too hard on yourself! The truly selfish wouldn’t have dived in fully clothed after her, they would have started screaming for help. You do the best job you can and make the best choices you can at the time… it still may have happened even if you where in the water. So glad that everyone is ok!

    March 23, 2007 at 7:46 pm

  2. What a story! The bottom line is, God gave you a chance to learn something without either of your kids getting hurt. And who knows: you may have “saved” another mom from making the same mistake, and therefore saved a little kid some day!
    And remember that we’re all selfish sometimes. I remember one time wearing high heels because they looked good with my outfit when I knew that I would be carrying Kenny around in the baby Bjorn… I tripped on my heel in a parking lot, in the 90 degree Phoenix heat, and thankfully I took the brunt of the fall and hot pavement instead of Kenny. But it reminded me that fashion is WAY less important than being safe!

    March 23, 2007 at 9:00 pm

  3. janet

    I’m glad that Pig Will wanted to play in the water finally. and that she saw she can be alright after going under. sorry it was so scarry for you and her!!!!!!!!!!! ever so thankful that God, as well as you, were watching them!! But am I was showing their pictures to fellow classmates at dinner this evening. Need new pictures as they are 5 weeks older than the last time I saw then.! Love to you all, Mommie

    March 23, 2007 at 10:45 pm

  4. I am so sorry you had such a scare. Like the others said you are doing a great job with the girls. I too have never learned how to swim but I too would have jumped in to save my child in a heartbeat.

    March 24, 2007 at 3:09 pm

  5. dana

    wow – I can just see her little face~ I’m glad she is safe and dry! The way you wrote that made me feel like I was there.

    March 26, 2007 at 10:07 am

  6. Pingback: R is for Ridiculous « Half my Heart

Leave a Reply

