Ramblings from my life…

Looking forward to morning…

The best part of my day is when I first wake up. I open my eyes and smile. I start to tingle, just knowing that soon my phone will ring…. and then it does. I reach for it, check the caller ID, see the funny name of the calling card being used and then answer. I can’t hold back my excitement any longer. “Good Morning!” I say, “How was your day?” Then I hear it – the best sound in the entire world… a low masculine voice… “Hi Honey, how did you sleep?”

The entire conversation I have a huge smile on my face, maybe a tear or two slowly dripping out. I try to recall the events of the previous day and what we have planned for today. Then Pig Will and Pig Me Too have a turn. They laugh with Daddy about silly things – they have so many inside jokes – and it is so good to see the laughter and love on their little faces.

Today I saw a video about Navy pride… Honor… Courage… Commitment.  I remembered special times when my husband and I were dating. I remembered how proud I was to see him Commissioned as an Officer. I relived our wedding day as I walked towards this man in uniform and said “I do!” I remembered our first deployment, how hard the time away from each other was. I remembered his homecoming – how proud I felt to wave that American Flag and see his plane landing. I felt… well…. proud. Pig Me Too pointed to the screen and shouted “there’s daddy!” and I laughed. I felt proud because she felt proud. I miss him… the days are so quiet without him…. but I smile each night before I go to bed because I feel proud that my husband is just waking up to start his day so that mine can be a much safer one. I smile because I know that the next time I open my eyes, I’ll hear the phone ringing.

5 responses

  1. That’s so wonderful that you get to start your day off that way. Each day you have something to look forward to makes them go by faster. Makes your ticker count down faster.

    March 20, 2007 at 6:24 am

  2. That is so awesome that you have something so great to look forward to. That actually made me want to cry just reading it though.

    March 20, 2007 at 9:46 am

  3. Amber

    That was so beautiful, you do have alot to be proud of! I am proud that you will make such big sacrifices to keep my family, and millions of others that you might never meet safe.

    March 20, 2007 at 3:59 pm

  4. Your pride is making my eyes tear up a little. What a beautiful picture you’ve painted. next time you get that early morning call, tell your husband I said, “Thanks for making the world a safer place.”

    March 23, 2007 at 12:20 pm

  5. kim cook

    aw thats so sweet, so glad that you decided to blog

    March 25, 2007 at 8:29 pm

Leave a Reply

