Ramblings from my life…

Laughter is the best medicine…

What is it about the laugh of a child that just makes you drop everything and laugh too? I can be in a bad mood and one of my kids belts out the greatest laugh and no matter how hard I try, I have to laugh too. Today I was not in a bad mood, just talking on the phone…. and Pig Will was trying her hardest to distract me. She started by pushing on my stomach, then making faces, then jumping up and down and singing some ridiculous song that she had made up and then finally, sticking her feet (smelly from a days work) in my face. That is when I lost it – I laughed so hard that I think I deafened the person on the other end of the phone. So, I hung up and tickled her until she was red in the face and then what did she do? Beg for more.

Life has so many ups and downs. Should I feel guilty that I had a great day when someone else is having a bad day? I am very blessed. I know it – no one needs to tell me. I see my children’s beautiful faces and get goose bumps, I talk to my loving husband on the phone and just smile, knowing he is thinking about me too – even miles away in a whole other world.

I am so proud of my husband… this is not what he signed up for, yet he is doing his duty to our nation. He joined the Navy to fly (and has up until now) but is on an Individual Augmentation for the Army because they called him to it. The kids are proud of him too – they tell their friends at school and church all about how daddy is helping us and telling the bad guys to be good. I am so proud of my children. They are holding their heads up high and they have actually taught me a few lessons these past two months. Communicate, listen, hug each other lots and most definitely laugh often!

4 responses

  1. Amber

    I hope those kids make you laugh alot! I am sure they do!

    March 17, 2007 at 6:14 pm

  2. I love the way kids can ground us. Keep laughing and giving those sweet kids hugs.

    March 18, 2007 at 9:53 pm

  3. Teresa

    I think God wired kids to know just how to get us moms out of a funk. I know my oldest can make me laugh no matter how down I am. Glad that you have your kids with you during this time to laugh with and to hold. Hang in there!

    March 19, 2007 at 10:52 am

  4. I think it’s great that kids can make us laugh and keep us in tune to the “real” world through a child’s eye.

    March 20, 2007 at 9:52 am

Leave a Reply

