Ramblings from my life…

My daddy is a hero

These precious words came out of my 3 year olds mouth this morning. As I was fixing her breakfast, she proclaims “my daddy is a hero!”. Now, I’ve talked to both of my kids about daddy’s job, where he is and why he can’t be with us… I’ve also told them before that he is a hero. So, you’d think I would not be surprised, but I was! It was so sweet and innocent to here it from her lips.

Being 3 years old must be pretty tough. You are not only short – but there are a ton of obstacles to overcome. In the last year you’ve learned to use the potty, get dressed by yourself, use some pretty big words and know what they mean, comprehend that daddy is gone – but then wonder if he really is coming home again. Why do I say this? Every time we are out running an errand or on a walk – and we pull up to the house, Pig Me Too see’s daddy’s car in the driveway and shouts “Daddy’s home!”. No honey, his car will always be there, daddy is still far, far away and won’t be home for a long, long, long, long time. “Oh, okay mommy”.

Herein lies the problem. Pig Me Too started preschool two days a week in January. She was doing great – almost TOLD me to leave. Last week, both days, she cried when I left. Also, my child that has been potty trained for almost two months now is having a bit of trouble getting to the potty on time for #2. She doesn’t have an accident – she is trying to prevent the accident… but that still “stains” her pretty undies. I am at a loss. Her teacher says that she cries b/c she thinks that I won’t come back – just how daddy is not coming back (to her). It tears my heart.

Pig Will, the older child, seems to understand everything… and tries to comfort Pig Me Too often. What a sweet child.

7 responses

  1. Drew went through many issues when daddy was gone. Everything from hitting at school to wetting his pants to crying on the drop of a dime. We are the good mommies who have to be as understanding and patient as possible, know how hard that can be at times, to help the little ones get through. And it’s great to see the kids rally around eachother in these times. My two older ones were wonderful about cheering eachother up. And cheering me up, for that matter!

    March 5, 2007 at 1:50 pm

  2. Wow, you seem to be dealing with a lot. I don’t even have any advice for you, but I do have prayers.

    Dear Jesus, Please be with K and her family while her husband is away. Lord, help her to feel your touch, hear your words of comfort. Help her to help her children to understand. And most of all Lord, bring her husband home safe and sound. In your name I pray Amen.

    March 5, 2007 at 4:24 pm

  3. Hi!
    I am praying for you,too. Wow, what a load you carry! I was grumbling to myself tonight because my hubby didn’t help put the kids to bed…you put both to bed every night…Colossians 3:15-17

    March 6, 2007 at 11:49 pm

  4. Your girls have such kind hearts. We’re looking forward to your visit!!

    March 7, 2007 at 10:30 am

  5. Amber

    I am so sorry that she is having such a hard time! Having daddy gone is rough on everyone! I will say some extra prayers for her!

    March 7, 2007 at 4:55 pm

  6. My heartbreaks for her. What a difficult concept for a three year old to grasp. My prayers are with you all as you navigate this time until Daddy is home again.

    March 7, 2007 at 11:23 pm

  7. Laura

    Oh, praise God – girl, I’ve been there! I’ll never forget Caitie’s cries to the sky every time she saw a plane fly by.. ‘is that daddy’s plane? daddy’s home!’. Being the paranoid person that I am, I rotated daddy’s truck, placed the boots he left behind on the front step from time to time. It never failed that Caitie would notice and think it was ‘the day!’ Hugs to you all..

    March 11, 2007 at 10:41 pm

Leave a Reply

