Ramblings from my life…

Fight the good fight

One of my husband’s favorite Bible verses is 2 Timothy 4:7 “Fight the good fight, finish the race, and keep the faith”. It is among 3 verses that I repeat to myself daily.

My husband is in the Navy. He is currently on his second deployment to the Middle East. I have two young children whom I will call “Pig Will” and “Pig Me Too” (names from a Richard Scarry story).

My life has been filled with so many blessings. I had a wonderful childhood, great parents… found and married the love of my life (the other half of my heart!) and had my two kids. Although I’m living life as a single parent while my husband is away, I constantly think and pray for my man. I hold tight to the promises that the Lord has given me. I remember that each day with my kids is a gift and try not to mind the little things like whining. I move about and take in each precious moment with them and when things get tough, I say “This too shall pass” – and it will.

My husband has been gone for 4 weeks, we still have 24 more weeks to go until he returns home. I lie in bed at night, pretending to hold his hand and dreaming of his homecoming. I say goodnight to his pillow, even though it is morning for him.
Be safe my love. hearthalf.JPG

15 responses

  1. What an inspiring blog you’ve written. I’m sure hubby would be thrilled to read it and know just what he means to you.

    March 3, 2007 at 1:38 pm

  2. Looks great! Can’t wait to read more. I’ll add you to my list of bloggin mommas so I remember to check back.

    March 3, 2007 at 2:05 pm

  3. Shari

    Thank you for sharing! I will be praying and counting down with you my friend!

    March 3, 2007 at 4:32 pm

  4. I hope you will print this out and send it to that lucky man of yours.

    March 3, 2007 at 5:05 pm

  5. Valerie

    I am so proud of you……..I know it takes a lot of faith to be apart. I will be praying for your family as my family always prays for those serving and their families. I know several that are deployed. {{{hugs}}}

    March 3, 2007 at 5:58 pm

  6. What a beautiful opening. Praying that time flies by so the other half of your heart can be back in your arms again.

    March 3, 2007 at 8:24 pm

  7. janet

    hi, love this site. glad you started it. miss you and the girls. xoxo

    March 3, 2007 at 11:41 pm

  8. Thanks so much for sharing – this was beautfil. I addded your blog to my favorites so I can check up on you and the girls! Hope to catch up soon! Love, snow

    March 4, 2007 at 6:30 am

  9. Laura

    (HUGS) What a spiritually uplifting post. I’m sure this will be not only theraputic for you, yet a beautiful accounting of the emotions that you’re feeling during this time. Something, I’m sure both the girls will appreciate having when they are older.. Love, L

    March 4, 2007 at 8:37 am

  10. Your last paragraph spoke to my heart. Thank you for your vulnerability!

    March 4, 2007 at 5:23 pm

  11. Amber

    That was beautiful! Just as your hubby is fighting the good fight so are you… just from the home front! God is going to carry you through to the end, and He is always victorious! Praying for you!

    March 4, 2007 at 7:35 pm

  12. Barbara

    Jeff and I will definitely keep you and your husband and the girls in our prayers through these next 24 weeks. I hope that the time flies past! We miss you guys!
    Love, cousin Barbara

    March 5, 2007 at 10:34 am

  13. Katie

    I love your blog, what a great idea and so inspriational!

    Big huge hugs,
    Katie

    March 8, 2007 at 5:12 pm

  14. Pingback: My sweet PMT « Half my Heart

  15. Pingback: Rise and Shine « Half my Heart

Leave a Reply

